Skip to content

The Long and Short of it

July 18, 2009

Funny…I spent three days with a 1997 Zind-Humbrecht Pinot Gris Clos Windsbuhl this week.  Interesting wine – serious peachy ripeness, creaminess and definitely some alcoholic sizzle. It settled into a nice groove by the 3rd day and leveled out – the intense fruit tapering off, but salty minerals and mushroomy funk coming through. It forced me to consaider it with each sip. Acids held it together well. I hadn’t intended to nurse it for 3 days, and it was lovely with Thai (I know…trite), but it just wasn’t terribly easy to drink.

The next day, I opened a 2007 Christian Ducroux Regnie, and before I realize it – it was gone.  It just had a perfect combination of a fresh-rainfall-on-rocks-and-dirt aroma with cranberry zestiness and slipper-soft tannins. It just locked into the pasta and ragu I enjoyed it with like another ingredient. I applaud David Lillie / Chambers Street Wines with this import  – and regret not buying more on my last trip there earlier this summer.



No comments yet

Leave a Reply

