Skip to content

Leitz Dragonstone Riesling 2006

May 6, 2008

~$14US, 100% Riesling, Rheingau, Germany

Leitz’s Dragonstone is a wine I keep coming back to, despite not really getting it on first tasting. I gave it a second try a few months ago and was able to observe some nice evolution in the bottle – the early 2005s had a fierce minerality supported by great fruit, nearing a spatlese-level of ripeness (at least to my palate) – but it was disjointed. The later 05’s started to get that beautiful petrolly aspect along with a tapering of the fruit and an integration of the slatey mineral notes – making for an altogether more mature, harmonious and integrated wine. It was a welcome change, and I was interested to see if the 06’s followed suit.

My first ’06 poured a very very pale straw – almost clear. The aromatics were obvious and clean with dominant white peach and fresh apple juice. Some nectary/floral notes beyond the fruit, and the tell-tale mineral rocky aromas that I’ve come to associate with this wine.

On the palate, I was pleasantly surprised by the freshness compared to the ’05. On entry, the fruit ripeness dominates – but the brisk acidity comes dashing through to balance the wine perfectly – ever so slightly off-dry and chalky on the finish. Light-to-medium palate-feel and enough complexity/vineyard character/etc at this price point to keep my wife and I pouring more. In recent memory, I’m not sure I can remember a wine that was as simply refreshing to sip alongside a meal.

Very well-crafted, distinctive, refreshing and food-friendly – what else is would you need for a perfect summertime white? And I’m pretty sure that it will evolve in the bottle for a few years for anyone who has enough patience and discipline not to drink it now – but for me, I”ll be drinking it.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. twelliott permalink
    May 6, 2008 6:49 pm

    Thanks for your entry, Jonathan. Watch my blog for the summary posted Friday or Saturday.

    Cheers!

  2. May 18, 2008 6:35 pm

    Sounds like you had as much fun with your German Riesling as I did on this Wine Blogging Wednesday!

Leave a Reply

