Skip to content

+7 Priorat, Pinord 2002

November 14, 2007

ampolla2.gif ~$35US Grenache Blend, Priorat

This was tried on an impulse – I’m big on the region,  it seemed a decent price (for a Priorat),  and I hadn’t heard of it, so what the heck. Popped and tasted: Garnet, and nothing but wood and tannins. I came back a few hours later, and it started to shed the oak and pick up some steam. The nose opened nicely, with cigar-box, black cherries, and chocolate-covered raisins. In the mouth, it was overall leaner than the nose let on, and more that a little tannic. The firm acidity added some lift and hit some pomegranate notes. While lean and dry, it showed admirable complexity but a short cherry-Popsicle finish.

Overall, this wine hit some really nice notes from a flavor standpoint, but missed for me from a structure and balance standpoint.  In my perfect world, I wish I could have dialed down the wood, up the fruit and minerality – and kept everything else as-is. I know very little about this wine, but 5 years old, so it’s hard to say if it was over the hill, too young on in a “dumb” phase.  Again, not a bad wine by any means, but I found myself dwelling more on the flaws than the strengths.

One Comment leave one →
  1. ThomasT permalink
    November 27, 2007 7:47 pm

    I came to know the wine during ProWein 2004 in Dusseldorf, Germany (where it was among the best reds presented), and secured a few bottles from 2003. It was, back then, a real young brute, but had a fine nose, lots of fruit if maybe a touch too much wood. But from my experience, you never really know before the wine is ripe and ready.
    I’ve opened one recently for a special occasion. It was, as it was, quite enjoyable, but will undoubtedly still win a lot from some 3-4 more years of aging (at least).
    If you have a bottle left, I recommend you lay it on for a few more years until it is tamed, and it should purr on the tongue like a cat.

    Nice Blog BTW 🙂
    Cheers,
    Thomas

Leave a Reply

