Skip to content

Clos de la Siete 2005

November 5, 2007

970301.jpg~$15US   40% Malbec, 20% Cabernet Sauvignon, 20% Merlot and 20% Syrah, Mendoza, Argentina

This didn’t live up to the hype (Michel Rolland at the helm here, the controversial Bordeaux-magician), at least to my palate. Initially, a mix of black fruits backed by overt wood and rough-as-sandpaper tannins.  After hours of decanting and tasting, the fruit faded but the oak and tannins remained. There seemed to be good potential on the initial tastes, but after time, the wine became more disjointed, awkward, and stiff. Perhaps it will age more gracefully in bottle than it did in the decanter, but for me, this is a major pass.

One Comment leave one →
  1. Craig in New Hampshire permalink
    March 21, 2009 1:58 pm

    My wife and I had a bottle of 2005 Clos de La Siete blend this summer, at a restaurant in Meredith, NH, and (for the money) it was by far my favorite wine I can remember ever having. It was mature and complex and a spicy. Can I get more in New Hampshire? If there is any way I can get my hands on a case, please let me know.

Leave a Reply

